franciscan ministries logo

Senior Living Glossary – Part Two

April 10, 2018

Blog image

Senior Living Terms Explained

In part one of our senior living glossary series, we provided definitions to some of the most common terms regarding senior housing and healthcare services. In part two, we define more miscellaneous terms in the senior living industry today.

Admission Requirements – the conditions that need to be met in order for a prospective resident to move into a senior living community like Franciscan Communities. These requirements vary by community as well as level of care required. To learn more about specific admission requirements please contact the community of interest.

ADLs – activities of daily living. These include bathing, grooming, eating, etc.

Affordable Housing – low-cost housing opportunities for those of modest income. Eligible individuals traditionally must have finances that fall between 30 percent and 60 percent of the median income of the county in which the affordable housing is located.

Aging in Place – residents are afforded the opportunity to remain in a certain living environment through the aging process as they experience a decline mentally or physically.

Alzheimer’s – a degenerative brain disease that affects memory and cognitive function, with symptoms including memory loss, confusion with time or place, changes in mood or behavior, language and speech problems, difficulty completing tasks, poor judgment, withdrawal from social activities, and wandering.

Amenities – the diverse assortment of features that increase the attractiveness and value, as well as one’s physical and material comforts provided by Franciscan Communities.

CMS (Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services) – as a division of the federal government, within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, CMS oversees and manages the Medicare and Medicaid programs.

CNA – Certified Nursing Assistant. The CNA works under the direction of a licensed nurse to provide attentive care.

Community – a special environment where a group of people, many who share common interests or are in comparable age, reside.

Concierge Service – a special service where a designated individual attends to details, such as booking your dining reservations, tennis courts and golf course tee-times as well helping to accommodate your transportation needs and much more.

Faith-Based Organization – organizations founded by individuals or institutions that adhere to the values and tenets of a given religion. The formation of a religious congregation of women known as the Franciscan Sisters of Chicago was the official beginning of our Franciscan Ministries and marked the beginning of our legacy of providing quality health and housing services. Our services are available to seniors of all faiths.

Geriatrician – a medical doctor who specializes in the care of seniors and develops care plans that specifically address the health care needs of the elderly.

Gerontologist – a professional whose education and experience allows for him or her to work primarily with older adults. They study aging from a broad perspective and generally know a great deal about the various needs of older adults.

Life Enrichment – one of the key ways one can find significant fulfillment in life is through the educational, cultural, social, spiritual and recreational programs offered through the life enrichment departments at each Franciscan Community.

Maintenance-Free – no maintenance responsibilities. This means no grass to mow, leaves to rake or snow to shovel. It also means no leaks to fix, rooms to be painted or driveways to be sealed. The result is no more time-consuming, monotonous and often expensive and strenuous chores…and more time to enjoy the finest things in life!

Medicaid – as the largest source of funding for medical and health-related services for people with excessively limited income, this government program is intended to provide health care and health-related services to those less fortunate. The program is federally funded and administered by the individual states. There are income eligibility criteria one must meet to receive funding.

Medicare – this is the federal, nationwide health insurance program which is overseen by the social security administration for those over the age of 65. This program reimburses doctors, hospitals and skilled care facilities for care provided for qualified patients.

Not-for-Profit Company – these are organizations such as Franciscan Ministries’ senior living communities, which are driven by non-financial objectives, including a mission, vision and values.

Refundable Entrance Deposit – this is the deposit you make when purchasing a Franciscan Community independent living home or apartment. For example, if the residence you purchase comes with a 90% refundable entrance deposit, then upon vacating the unit and it being resold, 90% of your initial deposit will be returned to you or your estate.*
* See specific contract for details.

R N – Registered Nurse.

Wellness Programs – an array of activities and events that are offered to residents designed to improve overall wellbeing and lifestyle. Such programs may include amenities such as swimming pools, fitness centers and exercise classes, as well as educational endeavors, such as off-campus trips to the museum and aquarium, creative writing classes, book clubs and guest speakers. At Franciscan Ministries’ senior living communities, our wellness programs are varied and they fluctuate depending on the interests of the residents at each community.

Don’t forget to check out part one of our senior living glossary series!

Contact us to find out how we can help you or a loved one start planning for the future today!